Recipe: 20 Second Coleslaw Salad


20 Second Coleslaw Salad
20 Second Coleslaw Salad, Courtesy: http://www.allrecipes.com

My co-worker, Jan, tried this “no-mayo” coleslaw recipe for an office pot-luck luncheon and it was a hit! I tried making it myself and I’m glad I did. I never really liked coleslaw because I’m not a mayo fan, but this oil and vinegar version is such a great alternative, now I’m a coleslaw believer – thanks, Jan!

Ingredients:

1 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup vinegar
2 tablespoons grated onion
2 teaspoons dry mustard powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 (16 ounce) package coleslaw mix1 (16 ounce) package broccoli slaw mix
2 (10 ounce) packages frozen green peas, thawed
1 cup dry-roasted peanuts
2 tablespoons poppy seeds

Directions:

  1. Whisk vegetable oil, sugar, vinegar, grated onion, dry mustard, and salt in a bowl, stirring until sugar has dissolved.
  2. Toss coleslaw mixes, peas, peanuts, and poppy seeds together in a large salad bowl until thoroughly combined; pour dressing over coleslaw and stir to coat.
  3. Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

Food Mingle Blog Alternatives and Substitutions:

  • Substitute or add your favorite nuts, if desired. (ie: honey roasted peanuts or sunflower seeds).
  • Substitute or add red cabbage slaw, if desired (for color)

Yield: 20 servings

Adapted From: http://www.allrecipes.com

***

3 thoughts on “Recipe: 20 Second Coleslaw Salad

  1. Kathleen Gallina April 25, 2014 / 1:24 pm

    Nancy, thank you for sharing this.
    Jan sent it to me via FB, I forgot to print, so I lost it.

    ~Kathleen G. (Maddalena)

    Like

Please Share a Comment!

