Recipe: Fiesta Turkey Skillet Dinner


Fiesta Turkey Skillet Dinner, Courtesy: www.jennieo.com
Fiesta Turkey Skillet Dinner, Courtesy: http://www.jennieo.com

I am going to let you in on a little secret. Sometimes, my recipe inspirations come from what is on sale in the supermarket, or items for which I have coupons, or what I have on hand in my cupboard. Let’s face it, we can’t always go out and buy all the ingredients for an elaborate recipe on a whim. It gets expensive and tiring – all those trips to the supermarket. So, I stock up on sale items when I can and then I look for recipes which use those items. 

This recipe is an example of that.  I found ground turkey on sale at the supermarket, so I bought several pounds and put it away in the freezer. I also bought several cans of organic sliced mushrooms, for which I had store coupons. So, I was delighted to find this recipe, which uses both of those items! I really enjoyed this Fiesta Turkey Skillet – not only for dinner, but also for lunch and then leftovers a few days later!  It felt good to make a tasty and healthy dish and know that I saved money in the process. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 (20-ounce) package lean ground turkey
½ cup chopped red onion
1 clove garlic, minced
2 cups quartered mushrooms
2 small bell peppers, cut into ½-inch strips
1 small zucchini, halved lengthwise and sliced
½ cup fat-free sour cream
1 (16-ounce) jar mild salsa
4 cups penne pasta, cooked

Directions:

  1. Cook turkey in skillet over medium heat, as specified on the package. (always cook to well-done, 165°F.).
  2. Add onion and garlic; sauté 5 minutes.
  3. Add mushrooms, bell pepper and zucchini; sauté 5 minutes.
  4. Cover and cook over medium-low heat 10 minutes.
  5. Stir in sour cream and salsa.
  6. Add cooked penne pasta; stir.
  7. Cook 3 minutes or until thoroughly heated

Food Mingle Blog Alternatives and Substitutions:

  • I had canned mushrooms on hand, so I used those in place of the fresh mushrooms. It was fine, but I think that mushroom quarters (in chunks) would have been heartier than the sliced ones in the can.
  • Instead of adding peppers separately, I used salsa with peppers already in it. This saved some time. Also, I am not a fan of peppers, so this alternative allowed for some of the taste without over powering my taste buds.
  • You can substitute ground beef, veal, pork or chicken for the ground turkey. Keep in mind that the turkey is very lean – other types of meat may add extra fat to the dish, making it less healthy and a bit “watered down”.

Yield: 6 servings

Source: http://www.jennieo.com

***

One thought on “Recipe: Fiesta Turkey Skillet Dinner

Please Share a Comment!

