Getting Published? Need Your Help Please!


Greetings to all of my fellow WordPress bloggers and loyal followers! 

It has been ten months now since I created Food Mingle Blog. I am really enjoying sharing my experiences with you, including my musings about going back to school for a Culinary Arts degree, as well as posting recipes and my thoughts on various restaurants and food-related events.

Eventually, I would like to get into writing about food as a profession.  Until then though, I am sticking with my day job, which is totally unrelated to writing or food. As a first step toward my goal of writing professionally, I submitted a few of my blog posts to editors of an online food and cooking magazine. They advertised that they were looking for new writers who wanted to get published on an unpaid basis, just to get experience and exposure. This was over two months ago and I did not receive a reply – not even an acknowledgment of my submission. 😦 I  know that only one rejection is not a big deal and that I should continue submitting.  However, it is still frustrating to hear nothing back.

This is where you all come in those of you with experience in professional writing and related fields.  Is it typical to hear nothing back at all from editors of online magazines? Since these were unpaid submissions, I know that there isn’t an issue of compensation.  What are your thoughts on this? How should I proceed? Any recommendations or suggestions based on your experience would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance to all my blogger friends and blog followers who are willing to share your experience about getting published!

***

2 thoughts on “Getting Published? Need Your Help Please!

  1. Kathleen Gallina September 30, 2014 / 7:19 pm

    Hi Nancy, I have a friend who had her first book published and is working on her second, perhaps she could offer insight and advice. Would you like me to reach out to her and see if the two of you can connect? ~K

    Like

    • Nancy at Food Mingle Blog October 1, 2014 / 7:08 pm

      Hi Kathleen – Thanks so much for the offer. Yes, I would like to take you up on that offer. I will send you my contact info via LinkedIn, with some additional info. Thanks again and thanks for being a loyal Food Mingle Blog follower! – Nan

      Like

Please Share a Comment!

