Recipe: Cream Cheese Frosting


Cream Cheese Frosting, Courtesy: www.marthastewart.com
Cream Cheese Frosting, Courtesy: http://www.marthastewart.com

I recently had some cream cheese left over from a recipe I posted previously, for BLT Roll-up Pinwheels, so I looked for a recipe to use it.  I came across this recipe for Cream Cheese Frosting on marthastewart.com and thought that I would give it a try.  I did some research online and found that you can freeze the frosting for use another time, as long as you package it in an air tight container. That’s what I did – can’t wait to use it on a carrot cake.

Ingredients:
8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
8 Tbsp. (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into pieces, room temperature
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Place cream cheese in a medium mixing bowl.
  2. Using a rubber spatula, soften cream cheese.
  3. Gradually add butter, and continue beating until smooth and well blended.
  4. Sift in confectioners’ sugar, and continue beating until smooth.
  5. Add vanilla, and stir to combine.

Food Mingle Blog Alternatives and Substitutions:

  • after I finished this recipe, I tasted it and found it to be not quite as sweet as I like, so I added about 1/4 cup more sugar and beat it again until smooth – that did the trick.

Yield: approximately 2 cups

Source: http://www.marthastewart.com

***

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. NowICanEatCake December 23, 2014 / 3:04 pm

    I adore cream cheese frosting! Your recipe looks fabulous! xo

    Like

    • Nancy at Food Mingle Blog December 23, 2014 / 5:20 pm

      Thanks, Joanna! I can always count on a Martha Stewart recipe. Happy holidays and thank you so much for being such a loyal reader.

      Liked by 1 person

Please Share a Comment!

