Recipe: Thousand Island Salad Dressing


 

housand Island Dressing Magnet
Thousand Island Dressing Magnet

When I was a kid (about 10 years old ), I remember going on vacation to the Thousand Island region (Alexandria Bay), in New York State with my family.  We went out to dinner one evening, and I was so excited to order Thousand Island dressing on my salad, because we were in the Thousand Islands.  I just thought that it was the funniest thing ever. My parents, however, didn’t really see the humor in it.  I still don’t know why.

On a subsequent visit back to that region as an adult, I bought the magnet you see in the photo above, showing the recipe for Thousand Island Salad dressing. Once again, I loved the irony of buying that particular magnet while visiting that particular area.  The recipe shown below is the one on that magnet, which I have used several times. Enjoy!

Thousand Islands Region, New York
Thousand Islands Region, New York

Ingredients:

1 quart mayonnaise
1/2 cup chopped olives
3/4 cup sweet relish
1/4 cup white vinegar
3 hard-boiled eggs
1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
dash of ground cloves
1/2 cup diced red peppers
1 tsp. sugar

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients together and chill the mixture.
  2. Serve with your favorite salad.

Food Mingle Blog Alternatives and Substitutions:

  • You may omit any items which are not to your liking, although I think that they all lend a significance to this dressing.

Yield: about 1 1/2 quarts salad dressing

Source: Refrigerator magnet shown above. It boasts that this dressing was first served aboard a yacht to George Boldt, owner of the Waldorf Astoria and Boldt Castle. He began serving it in his hotels and named it in honor of the 1000 Islands area.

***

One thought on “Recipe: Thousand Island Salad Dressing

Please Share a Comment!

