Recipe: Whole Wheat Pancakes with Chocolate Chips


Whole Wheat Pancakes with Chocolate Chips, Courtesy: Food Mingle Blog
Whole Wheat Pancakes with Chocolate Chips, Courtesy: Food Mingle Blog

I own a griddle. It’s still in the box because I have never used it. It’s kind of sad really; it seems like a perfectly nice griddle.  This seems to be a pattern for me. I had the same issue with my wok. I was so excited to use it when I bought it, but it sat in the box for far too long before I finally got around to using it.  But, I digress! I did get to cook on a commercial griddle in my Culinary Arts I class. We had a choice of making whole wheat pancakes or waffles. Since there were only two waffle makers, compared to a rather large griddle, I thought that I would have better luck with the griddle. 

The original recipe did not include chocolate chips or vanilla; in fact, the recipe seemed rather bland. So, I went searching in the cooler for some berries or other fruit to liven up the batter. Unfortunately, very little fruit was available, and I decided against a lemon or lime pancake batter. My lab partner had the great idea to go with chocolate chips. We found them in the back of the pantry!

Ingredients:
1 egg
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup milk
1 Tbsp. sugar
1 oz. melted butter
1 Tbsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 cup mini chocolate chips*
1/4 tsp. vanilla extract*

Directions:

  1. In a medium mixing bowl, beat together the wet ingredients:  egg, milk, butter and vanilla extract. Set aside.
  2. In a separate mixing bowl, mix together the dry ingredients: whole wheat flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.
  3. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix just until moistened. Do not overmix.
  4. Fold in the chocolate chips. The batter will be somewhat lumpy.

 

Whole Wheat Pancake Batter with Chocolate Chips, Courtesy: Food Mingle Blog
Whole Wheat Pancake Batter with Chocolate Chips, Courtesy: Food Mingle Blog

5. Cook pancakes on a preheated, oiled griddle until puffed and starting to dry around the edges.  The pancakes in the photo below are not yet ready to be flipped, although the smaller one at the middle-top of the photo is getting close.

Pancakes before flipping, Courtesy: Food Mingle Blog
Pancakes before flipping, Courtesy: Food Mingle Blog

6. When the edges of the pancakes start to turn brown and the pancake bubbles, flip the pancakes one time to cook the other side until just golden brown. Never pat a pancake.

Pancakes after flipping, Courtesy: Food Mingle Blog
Pancakes after flipping, Courtesy: Food Mingle Blog

7. Remove pancakes from the griddle immediately to a plate and serve.

Food Mingle Blog Alternatives and Substitutions:

  • *Neither the chocolate chips or the vanilla were in the original recipe, but my lab partner and I decided to add them for some extra flavor and texture. The quantities on both of these ingredients are estimated.
  • The key to making these pancakes is to be patient and flip them only one time, when the edges start to turn brown and lift away from the griddle.

Yield: 4 servings

Source: Culinary Arts 1: Fundamentals of Food Preparation – Lab Manual,” Monroe Community College, Department of Hospitality Management, Chef Gerald Brinkman, M.S.Ed., Assistant Professor and Michelle M. Bartell, M.A., R.D., CDN, Professor

***

Please Share a Comment!

