Thank you to Jitters Café in North Chili, NY!


Sometimes I forgot that it really is a small world after all. For example, recently, I was tasked with writing a paper for my Food Purchasing, Storage and Handling class, in which I was to interview the manager of a local food establishment.  Specifically, I needed to ask that person about the details of the purchasing function at their food service operation.  I cringed at the thought of walking into a restaurant off the street and asking to speak with the manager about a school project – who has time to talk to some unknown student? So, I decided to ask around in my network of friends and associates.

One of the first persons I asked is my friend and massage therapist, Heather Collins, LMT of Free Spirit Massage in the town of Greece, NY.  She is a trusted friend and a skilled and thoughtful massage therapist as well – I highly recommend her!

12038327_10153792622159728_1192582462227958933_nHeather immediately thought of her friend and former manager, Michelle McElwain of Jitters Cafe in North Chili, NY. Heather offered to make the introductions, and I gratefully accepted.  Soon afterward, I had an appointment to speak with Michelle at Jitters Cafe at 4357 Buffalo Road, about their purchasing processes.  I am so glad that it really is a small world after all! You never know who people in your network might know – you just have to ask.

20160324_172910

I appreciate that Michelle took time out of her busy schedule to meet with me.  She really was quite gracious in answering my 20+ questions about vendor selections, make-vs.-buy decisions, the ordering and receiving process, vendor relations and purchasing follow-up.  We sat comfortably at a table in the cozy café and chatted for about an hour, while enjoying tasty beverages. I especially enjoyed my iced chai tea – it was a refreshing treat. Thank you Michelle, for your time and consideration in agreeing to be interviewed for this paper!


 

You’ll be glad you stopped into Jitter Café In addition to their extensive beverage offerings, they also offer hot sandwiches, deli sandwiches, wraps (including veggie options), salads, breakfast sandwiches and bagels, and baked goods.  Their beverage offerings are extensive, including: lattes, milkshakes, hot and cold chai, hot and cold coffee, cappuccino, Italian soda, and iced and hot tea. Don’t forget about their own coffee, which is ground and brewed on site. There is something for everyone at Jitters Café.

Interested in checking out Jitters Cafe? Here are the details:

Jitters Cafe
4357 Buffalo Road
Rochester, NY 14514
(585) 594-3922
Hours of operation:
• Mon-Fri: 6:30 am – 9:00 pm
• Saturday: 8:00 am – 9:00 pm
• Sunday 9:00 am – 8:00 pm
Meals Served: breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, coffee and other beverages.
Sit down or take out.

Thanks again, Michelle!

***

 

Please Share a Comment!

