Purchasing Class Comes to an End – Food Purchasing Certification Earned


Yet another semester has come to an end.  Now that my Purchasing, Storage and Handling class has wrapped up. I am one step closer to completing my degree in Hospitality Management – Culinary Arts.  Also, I am now certified in Food Purchasing from the National Restaurant Association!

A grade

I am pleased to report that I earned a final grade of an A in this class. The highlight was a taste-test project in which I corralled my family into tasting four sets of similar products and rating the winner of each set.  You can read more about each taste test here:

From this project, I learned that a higher price doesn’t always mean better quality and that the value of a product is subjective, and can also depend on how you plan to use it.

I now have three months of glorious summer days off before my next class starts. It is called “Introduction to Event Planning” and in it, I will learn all about the fine art of planning successful events.  Stay tuned for back-to-school posts starting up again in September. Meanwhile. I will continue to post my favorite recipes and reviews of restaurants and culinary-related books and events.

***

4 thoughts on “Purchasing Class Comes to an End – Food Purchasing Certification Earned

  1. Jamie Richardson May 31, 2016 / 12:25 pm

    Congratulations Nancy! You are doing great! Keep the blog going too, love it.

    Liked by 1 person

Please Share a Comment!

